Learning for life.

Fitting that the final week of CEP 812 asked us to consider Friedman’s (2013) ideas of passion quotient and curiosity quotients as we mull around Berger’s (2014) proposition of questioning for life.

What am I most passionate about in education?  Why am I so passionate about it?  How does my curiosity play a role?  What does it mean to be a good educator and how can I be a great one?  How do I teach as best as possible to ensure the maximum learning experience for my students?

When I began the Educational Technology program at MSU, I was curious about how I could integrate technology into my curriculum.  Now, having completed the program, I have realized how passionate I am about curriculum development, the importance of working at the interface of technology, pedagogy and content (Bransford, Brown, & Cocking, 2000; Koehler & Mishra, 2008), and how excited I am to design meaningful learning experiences for my students to be empowered collaborative participants in a global context.

Enthusiasm and inquisitiveness are palpable and contagious.  Educators need to model the learning theories we teach, so to raise lifelong learners and fearless questioners, we must work to become them ourselves.  While I thought the Educational Technology program was the step to discovering a solution to the wicked problem of educating in the 21st century, I have found that it was the stepping stone to the stepping stones.  It has led me to the path I need to continue on to find ever changing solutions to that ever changing problem.

Thank you.

Check out my prezi on Educating in the 21st century.

 

References:

Berger, W. (2014). A More Beautiful Question: The Power of Inquiry to Spark Breathrough Ideas. New York City, NY: Bloomsbury USA.

Bransford, J.D., Brown, A.L., & Cocking, R.R. (2000). How people learn: Brain, mind, experience and school. National Academies Press. Retrieved fromhttp://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368.

Friedman, T. L. (2013, January 29). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q.. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

Koehler, M.J., & Mishra, P. (2008) Introducing TPCK. In AACTE Committee on Innovation and Technology(Ed.), Handbook of Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge (TPCK) (pp.3-29). New York: Routeldge.

One thought on “Learning for life.

Leave a Reply

